User Maintenance

The User Maintenance program is where you set up and maintain users.

To set up and maintain users:

To create a new user:

Note:

The Default Store is the store you want associated by default with the user. For information on how to select parameters in a code-driven field, please click here.

The Security Group is the code-driven group you want this user attached to. For information on Group Security, please click here.

Back to Top

To set specific guidelines for this user's security:

The list of programs will appear under the "Description" column--these constitute the rows. (At first, they will be grayed out.) To the left of the "Description" column, there is the "Use" column. Check the box under the "Use" column for any of the programs (rows) you wish to define. Checking the box in the "Use" column essentially activates a specific row--it will no longer be grayed out. If you leave the "Use" box unchecked for a given row, that row will remain grayed out and deactivated. To the right of the "Description" column, there are four columns: "Display," "Delete," "New," and "Update." A list of little boxes appears under each column. The boxes correspond to the column and the row--the row being defined by the program name.

The columns are self-explanatory. "Display" refers to accessing the program itself. "Update" refers to altering data within a program. So, for example, a user may be able to open a program but may not be able to change anything within it. Perhaps a user can open the Product Properties program and look at records there but cannot change any information. "New" refers to adding new records. "Delete" refers to deleting records.

How the User Permissions program works depends on how you defined your store's default security model. Essentially, you only need to use the User Permissions program to set up and maintain exceptions to the default. So, for instance, if your default security model is Full Access and you want a specific user to have access to everything, then you would not need to define anything in that user's User Permissions. There would be no exceptions to define.

Back To Top

If, on the other hand, you had set your store's default security model as Restricted Access, then, for this same user, you would need to set up the exceptions in User Permissions. If you want this user to have access to everything, you would need to define that by clicking on every module icon button at the top of the User Permissions window and then activating each program listed underneath each module and manually granting this user access to do anything he wants in all of these programs.

For the sake of clarity, here is a more realistic example:

Let us assume your default security model is Full Access and you want to allow a certain user to do everything except have access to User Permissions and delete records from Product Properties.

In this example, you would do the following:

Now, for disallowing the user the rights to delete products from Product Properties:

Important:

There is one selection in User Security that works differently from everything else. This is "Cashier Only", found at the bottom of the programs listed when you click on the POS toolbar icon at the top of the screen. If you check the "Use" box for "Cashier Only", the user in question will only have access to the POS. So, when that user clicks on the [i] Merchant desktop icon, the POS module will fire up automatically. This user will not have access to the main [i] Merchant menus and programs--only POS. Whether your store default is set to Full Access or Restricted Access makes no difference, and the "Delete," "Display," "New," and "Update" boxes do not apply. Simply checking the "Use" box establishes that this user can only access POS.

Important:

There are three other security options that also have a twist to them. They are under the Returns heading, and they are: PO/Invoice Selection Not Required; PO Vendor is Not Required to Match Return Vendor; and Allow Cost and Price Changes.

 

Back To Top

Once you are through setting User Permissions for a user:

Note:

To have user security take effect, the user whose security has been changed or added needs to log off of the system and then log back on.

 

Group Security works the same way as User Security. The only difference is that, in Group Security, you can bundle multiple users together into a group and then set the security for the group as a whole. This is a nice timesaver, if you have multiple users who will have identical security restrictions.

To access the Group Security parameter program:

Important:

If a security setting for an individual user differs from the Group security setting of which that user is a member, the system will refer to the individual's security setting. If a user is a part of a group, you don't need to set up his or her user security as an individual. Simply place the user into a group and establish the security guidelines for the group as a whole.

Once you are through setting User Permissions for a group:

To access an existing Group:

Back to Top

 

To find existing individual users:

To delete the user:

 

You can transfer one user's property settings, including User Security, to another user with one simple step.

Back To Top