Grouping

Grouping is an option you can use to sort the records that populate the grid at the bottom of Find screens in [i] Merchant. Of course, even without Grouping, records in the Find screen grid can be sorted by clicking on column headings, etc. But Grouping takes sorting to the next level. With Grouping, you can sort the records in very specific ways, in layered ways (i.e., using multiple sorting criteria), you can create page breaks between the different sort groups when the list is printed, along with a few other features. Grouping is a great way, therefore, to sort your Find screen records via any criteria you choose. And by printing the list of found records, it is also a great way to use the list as a printed report. Grouping is available in most Find programs throughout [i] Merchant, but is not available in all of them.

In the Find screens where Grouping is available, you will see a Grouping icon in the toolbar near the top of the Find screen. There is an arrow at the right of this icon. If you click on it, a submenu appears, with two options--"Enabled" and "Disabled." Select the one you want. The next time you enter this specific Find screen, Grouping will be turned on or off upon entry depending on how you left it the last time you exited this Find screen. (If Grouping is active but you want it disabled during a session, simply choose "Disabled" from the Grouping arrow's submenu.)

Note:

When you first enter a Find screen, Grouping will not be available, even if it's enabled. It becomes available as soon as you select a search criteria, and run the search. In other words, Grouping becomes activated only when records appear in the grid at the bottom of the Find screen.

Okay, so let's move on. Once you run a search, and the records do appear on the Find screen grid, what happens when you enable Grouping?

Back To Top

Notice the checkbox field at the bottom of the window--"Save with Current Settings". This works like a Save As in Windows. If you have an existing query called up in the Choose Groups and Totals window, clicking this box will duplicate the search criteria from that query and place them into the new query you are creating. You would do this if the new query's sorting criteria are very close to the existing query in question. Then you can add whatever additional sorting features are needed for the new query.

Back To Top

Back To Top

That's all there is to creating a sorting query. When you click on "Apply," [i] Merchant will prompt you to save the changes you made if you haven't already. To save the changes before Applying:

To delete a query:

Back To Top

To find an existing saved query:

You can have all existing queries display on the submenu (ones created by all users), or you can have only the queries you yourself saved be displayed. To determine whether you want all queries, or just the ones you created and saved, to be displayed, do the following:

Note:

Keep in mind, when you are creating and saving sort queries, you are doing this for each applicable Find program separately. For example, the sort queries you create for the Inventory Change Log Inquiry are unique to that program. They will not be saved for the Buying Manager program, etc. You must set up and maintain Grouping separately and uniquely for each applicable Find program where you wish to have Grouping activated.

When you use Grouping, the Quick Report's setup screen in [i] Merchant is enhanced. Click here for additional information on working with the Quick Report when using Grouping.

Back To Top